MBAT co-hosting Cyber-Physical Systems Workshop at SAFECOMP 2012

  • Print

ERCIM/EWICS/DECOS Cyberphysical Systems Workshop at SAFECOMP 2012

Magdeburg, Germany, 25th Sept. 2012, 9:00 – 17:30

Dependable Embedded Systems, Robotics, Systems-of-Systems:
Challenges in Design, Development,Validation & Verification and Certification

Workshop participation free of charge for SAFECOMP participants

Scientific Co-sponsors: ARTEMIS projects MBAT, pSafeCer and R3-COP

Erwin Schoitsch, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology,
Amund Skavhaug, NTNU, Trondheim

Computers are everywhere – may they be visible or integrated into every day equipment, devices, and environment, outside and inside us, mobile or fixed, smart, interconnected and communicating. Comfort, health, services, safety and security of people depend more and more on these “cyber-physical systems”. They combine software, sensors and physics, acting independently, co-operative or as “systems-of-systems” composed ofinterconnected autonomous systems originally independently developed to fulfil dedicated tasks. The impact on society as a whole is tremendous - thus dependability in a holistic manner becomes an important issue, covering safety, reliability, availability, security, maintainability, robustness and resilience, despite emergent behaviours and interdependencies.

Technology is developing very fast. Demanding challenges have to be met by research, engineering and education. Smart (embedded) systems are regarded as the most important business driver for European industry. They are a targeted research area for European Research Programmes in Framework 7, in the ARTEMIS Joint Undertaking, and in several other dedicated Programmes and European Technology Platforms (ARTEMIS, EPoSS). Their application is not only in the traditional areas of aerospace, railways, automotive, or process industry and manufacturing, but also in robotics and services of all kind, in home appliances (smart environments, smart homes, ambient assisted living) and health care.

This workshop at SAFECOMP follows already its own tradition since 2006. Sessions will take place on

  • Dependable and resilient embedded systems
  • Autonomous Systems and Robotics
  • Systems-of-Systems

covering aspects from design, development, verification and validation, certification, maintenance, standardization and education & training. This is a workshop, and to be distinct from the SAFECOMP conference mainstream, it allows reports on “work in progress” aiming at hopefully fruitful discussions and experience exchange. Reports on European or national research projects (as part of the required dissemination) as well as industrial experience reports are welcome.

You want to present your ideas and results? What do you have to provide?

This time separate workshop pre-conference proceedings by Springer LNCS (additional to SAFECOMP Proceedings) are planned. Papers (6-8 pages, same format as for SAFECOMP proceedings) will be reviewed by at least three reviewers. Deadlines are:

  • June 1, 2012:   Full papers, sent to chairpersons
  • June 15, 2012:  Notification of authors
  • June 29, 2012:  Final camera-ready papers

The International Programme Committee is composed of selected EWICS and ERCIM members, led by the workshop organizers.

Contacts (workshop and programme chairpersons)

Erwin Schoitsch
AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
Donau-City-Straße 1, TechGate
1220 Vienna, Austria                                  
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Amund Skavhaug
The Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology
Department of Engineering Cybernetics
Trondheim, Norway
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


International Program Committee:

Friedemann Bitsch (DE), Sandro Bologna (IT), Wolfgang Ehrenberger  (DE), Francesco Flammini  (IT), Robert Genser  (AT), Janusz Gorski  (PL), Maritta Heisel (DE), Floor Koornneef  (NL), Peter Ladkin (DE), Meine van der Meulen (NO), Odd Nordland (NO), Frank Ortmeier (DE), Thomas Pfeiffenberger (AT), Francesca Saglietti (DE), Christoph Schmitz (CH), Erwin Schoitsch (AT), Rolf Schumacher (DE), Amund Skavhaug (NO).